Baby/Toddler bow ties!

I have been waiting to post this for ages. I never got around to it- I wonder why? I didn’t actually finish making this till two days ago, when I found the velcro. Can’t have a baby bow tie without velcro… or buttons. Resolution: make this with buttons.

Bow Ties

Supplies for bow:

  • 3/4 x at least 3″ strip of fabric
  • 5 x 3 1/2″ piece of fabric
  • Typical sewing supplies
  1.  Cut your fabric.
  2. Fold the 5 x 3 1/2 piece in half (right sides together) and sew on two of the three sides

IMG_4374

3. Turn right-side out, fold about a quarter inch in, and sew straight across. I found it much easier to iron it before. Trim loose threads as close as possible.

IMG_4379

4. Fold the long sides of the 3/4 x 3″ piece in to meet in the middle. Press so that it lies flat.

IMG_4383

Not sure if you will get the gist of it, but… I tried.

IMG_4384

5. Fold the larger piece in half, lengthwise (? never get those right) to find the middle. Crease it a little and place the strip over it.

IMG_4385

6. Fold the strip in half and pinch behind the bow to form the bow itself.

IMG_4389

IMG_4390

7. Sew across the two sides as closely as possible, and trim excess. Adjust as needed.

IMG_4392

For the tie part:

I don’t have any during- pictures for this, sorry!

  1. Cut a strip of fabric 1 1/2″ x the measurement around the receiver’s neck + 2″.
  2. Fold in half (wrong sides together) and sew along raw edges. Trim as closely as possible.
  3. Attach bow to the middle by hand-sewing. Try to avoid having stitches on the outside front. Taking your time is the only way to do this right, so don’t rush!
  4. Attach non-sticky Velcro to each end, and sew on all four corners to secure.

Step four was my fatal flaw. I’d hoped that I could get by with the sticky kind, but no- it ruined two perfectly good needles. The Velcro gave me a hard time the whole time I had (and didn’t have) it. I couldn’t find any for a week (reason for delayed posting), and when I did, I was so eager to use it that I ruined those needles. I had to think for a bit on how I should position it-

IMG_4994

-before ultimately deciding to do one on either side. The picture explains much better than I do.

Other than the Velcro, I liked this project a lot. It takes all of ten minutes, as long as you’re not distracted, and the finished result (I think) looks as good as any ‘grown-up’ bow tie. In fact, I might just make one myself…

If you just make the bow, you could probably attach a hair clip to it, and use for a little clip. I’m hoping to do something like it soon for some birthday gifts! 🙂

Katie

Leave a Reply

