Agony

Well. The post title looks a bit heavy for the topic, but believe me- living without a working, non-antique sewing machine is a perfect definition for the title.

At least for me.

It all began shortly before I finished During Quiet Time‘s Mini Dresden Coin Purse. When I tried to sew, the machine would cut my thread after a few stitches. I resorted to hand stitching to finish it, which wasn’t awful, but believe me- machine stitching would have been so much easier. At one point I had to get through six layers of fabric and interfacing with a partially dull needle!

Since then I haven’t been able to do anything with the machine. All of our small appliances seem to be malfunctioning, and unfortunately for me, the sewing machine is not the first priority. So I’ve turned to other projects to fill in the time.

In my hometown, we have a Farmer’s Market every summer, and this year I’m hoping to sell some of my various projects. I need some more to have an adequate collection, so I’ve been knitting. I’ve gotten a couple things done so far, but I still have a lot to go, so let’s hope I can get that sewing machine fixed in time! The market starts in a week, so it’s unlikely I’ll finish in time to start right then, but maybe when we get out of school. Believe it or not, there isn’t much time left!

Which happens to be another reason I haven’t posted. We’ve been going through standardized testing again this week, and I have other things that must be wrapped up soon. In short, it’s your typical end-of-school loose ends that must be tied. I have been sick for the past week or two, and I have missing work to catch up on. As much as I hate to say it, it’s a  common belief that homework takes precedence over sewing. Not very happy about that! 😉

Well, I’ll post when I can, but until then… have a good day!

Katie

Leave a Reply

