Since then…

Well, I’ve been trying to post for about a month now. I’ve been working on the Peter blanket-

The Peter Blanket, The Lucille Tunic

-pattern for a while, but when I went to find the notebook I wrote it in, it was gone!  I’m still looking for it, so when I find it (note: when), I’ll post it right away! This past month has been quite interesting. I’ve had various vacations and activities going on, and I haven’t had much time to work on anything big. However, upon going through my email this afternoon, I found many of the pictures I meant to post.

photo 2

This one was a May picture, but it brought back good memories. When my parents were in London, I tried out many British recipes, including this bread-and-butter pudding. I made the mistake of thinking it was sweet, and adding sugar. It wasn’t awful, but it was certainly an interesting flavor combination. I did like the recipe, though, and I might try it again.

IMG_5432

Anyone who has read Harry Potter has heard all about the famous butterbeer, the favored drink of the heroes. Sometimes hot, sometimes iced, always butterscotch-y and delightful, it is a drink anyone would drool over.

Our family attempted to make it after hearing so much about it, and while a time-consuming endeavor, it was worth the struggle. Of course it isn’t a low-calorie drink, but it is delicious…

IMG_5267

The garden is coming along. The picture above is an old one, and all of those beets have long since been eaten (deer, alas!), but we have a steady stream of kale, broccoli, and zucchini. Every now and again we even get a few tomatoes (often a target for deer, unless we get there first). For a garden in a park reclaiming the prairie and the woods, I don’t think it’s excessively awful.

11379142_718569368272528_121457669_n

Our herbs are coming along very nicely, and the other day I tried a lemon-basil ice cream. In the past we have shied away from ice cream recipes, since we have no ice cream maker, but I found a way to make one without and got away with using a brownie pan and a fork instead. It was definitely a savory ice cream, and an unconventional one too! I certainly fell in love with that recipe and will come back for it later!

11372191_1627826400826677_594482249_n

This week I’ve gotten the chance to be in the kitchen a lot, and today was no exception! Right after breakfast I made two more batches of yogurt (have I mentioned my yogurt-making endeavors yet?), and while that was setting, tried a batch of pasta. The last time I did homemade pasta, it didn’t turn out well- I was ten- and it was far too chewy. This time I dried the noodles, and made sure they were brittle before I put them away! We’ll see how they turn out, when cooked!

Hopefully I will be able to do more posts soon!

Katie

Leave a Reply

