Seeds, Fall Gardening, and Major Impatience.

Let’s talk seeds.

11356611_1456322964697065_2045898311_n

A week ago, I got our future fall garden. Seed Savers was a new discovery this year for me, and so far (I caved and planted a bush bean in a pot on the windowsill), I love them. My receipt came hand-signed, my seeds neatly packed into a yellow envelope.

Yellow- cheery!

The half-hour after I received said yellow, cheery envelope was spent unpacking the packets one by one, sorting, arranging, and admiring them over and over. Don’t judge- I would have spent at least two hours if I hadn’t had other things to do.

What on earth could possibly take priority over seeds?

If you look at the picture above very carefully, you’ll notice that there are several non-fall plants. Yeah. I actually wanted to have seven-ish months to admire the packets of onions and runner beans.

Because I didn’t get my two hours of admiring them when they first came.

Y’know.

Anyway, this coming year, we wanted to throw ourselves headfirst into half-homesteading, and therefore ordered seventeen packets of seeds to use in a fall garden.

Seven of which won’t actually be planted until next April.

And an additional six of which will at some point need some form of protection from the Big Bad Frost.

So: the official fall 2015 variety list:

Hardy and fast-growing:

Tom Thumb peas

Chioggia beets

French Breakfast Radishes

Halbhohrer Gruner Krauser Kale (gotta love the name!)

Hardy but slow-growing:

Calabrese Broccoli

(got Natalie MacMaster on Pandora- excuse me for a major toe-tapping moment-

I’m back. My apologies)

Red Romaine Lettuce

Strawberry Spinach (I can’t wait to see the ‘strawberries’- they look so interesting…)

Dragon Carrots

Early Jersey Wakefield Cabbages

Long Island Improved Brussels Sprouts (haven’t had Brussels Sprouts in ten-ish years; I’m excited to try them again!)

And- a sneak peak of the 2016 garden:

Painted Lady Improved Runner Beans

Sunset Runner Beans

Yellow of Parma Onions

Kentucky Wonder Bush Beans

Hidcote Blue Lavender

Genovese Basil

Borage

So, do any of you fall garden? What experiences do you have with it? Have any of you tried these varieties? What did you like about them?

Leave a Reply

