Canning. And Stuff.

Y’all. I’m too excited for this.

WIN_20151010_20_59_29_Pro

Some people get excited when they get a new phone, or computer game, or whatever. I get excited when I get canning jars, a jar funnel, and a jar lifter.

Prior to this, I’ve only had a pair of salad tongs to lift my jars out of boiling water. Never, ever do this- it is futile, and while it will eventually work, it’ll scald you along the way. I’m almost impervious to boiling water- that is not a good thing.

WIN_20150827_20_58_01_Pro

On a different note, I love canning. The realization that you can eat food grown in the summer in the winter, without worrying about produce being shipped from Central America- it’s incredible.

8af79c29cce7cb257760e2041596fdee

It would be more incredible if I had remembered to can things in, say, April- but no matter. At least I have an apocalypse-style hoard of mason jars in my dresser.

WIN_20151010_22_02_48_Pro

Ignore the yarn. And the bad lighting. And the fact that a lot of my jars are in the basement right now.

IMG_5292

Incentive to can more next year!

Leave a Reply

