Giving Thanks

The other day, I made a homesteading wish list. On it were things such as a grain grinder, foods scale, pressure canner, berry trellis, beehive- about twenty items in all.

WIN_20151010_20_59_29_Pro

As I looked at it, I realized what I had inadvertently said: If I had these things, I could have a full homestead. If I had these things, I would be happy.  It sounded terrible in my head, and looks even worse on the computer screen. Have I really just said that I wasn’t happy with what I have?

My mother is extremely passionate about the food bank- she volunteers there often, so we get many statistics from her. About 70% of my school qualifies for free/reduced lunch, and many of the kids came from very difficult backgrounds. My family would be considered fortunate to have what we have.

WIN_20151020_17_36_19_Pro

And here I was, writing down a wish list of things that would make me happy.

I think that one of the most ignored proverbs is the one about things not equaling happiness. Our society has become so commercialized that one might only think of something, and then have it. At a push of a button on the computer screen,  supposedly we can become happy.

By no means am I anti-consumerist. I love Amazon, and local shops. I want to support people taking on old crafts, and selling their creations- regardless of whether they are overpriced.

But how far is too far? There’s a thin line between want and need. My mother has to constantly remind me that we are lucky to have fresh food on the table. Regardless of whether it’s the absolute best quality or not, meat from the grocery store is better than no meat at all. We might not get to buy the $15 whole, grass-fed, organic chicken from the market. And that’s okay.

(At least it should be. I have trouble reminding myself.)

e816d1ee76d373941a08bd9c21ab9791

I’m not perfect. You’re not perfect. None of us are perfect, and while we should strive to be, God doesn’t care what’s in our fridge. If we do what we are able to do, it’s good. If we can’t afford to put the best quality meat in our freezer, we shouldn’t feel obligated to. Healthy living, homesteading, half-homesteading- whatever we choose to call it- should come in small steps. All you need is patience, and a true desire to reach the goal.

IMG_6086

This Thanksgiving, remember the days in kindergarten, when your teacher had you and your classmates write down what you were thankful for. Do that again- make a wish list like mine- but right next to it, write down what you are thankful for. Don’t stop with the basic things, like food, water, and shelter- think about family, about life, about the wilted basil plant on the counter. Think about successes, and failures alike: you learned something from both. Find the simple things in life, and enjoy them.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Katie

Leave a Reply

